Is She Really Serious?

27Sep10

The article begins with one of the most outrageous quotes I think I have ever read, especially in the illegal immigration debate:

“If I come as an immigrant, you have the obligation to make me a citizen.”

Who said these words?  They were spoken by a woman who might be the most famous illegal immigrant in the United States today.  That would be President Obama’s Aunt Zeituni Onyango who originally overstayed her legal status in the United States in 2000 and was ordered to leave the country in 2004.   She still lives in the US, but now she has been granted political asylum.  This is supposedly because she could face harm if she returned to her native Kenya.  The Kenyan government has disagreed with that assertion, however being a relative of the US President and living in Kenya can’t really be a safe thing.   So I won’t quibble with the idea that she was granted asylum by a politically astute judge knowing that her nephew would be keeping an eye on her case.

What one can quibble with is her statements.  Not only that she believes it is our obligation to make her a US citizen, but also “I didn’t take any advantage of the system. The system took advantage of me.”  I sure wish similar systems would take advantange of me to the tune of paying for my medical coverage, paying for my housing and paying me $700 a month.  But some will say that $700 a month living in Boston isn’t enough money, she’s living in poverty.  Well, another quote seems to have that one covered too.  Who pays her bills?

“When you believe in Jesus Christ and almighty God, my help comes from heaven”

Hmm, and who said that Obama doesn’t have a God complex?

No Responses Yet to “Is She Really Serious?”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

